Who We Are: Jesuit Catholic

The University of San Francisco is one of 27 Jesuit Catholic colleges and universities dotted around the United States, each a reflection of the city it inhabits but founded on the same principles.

Jesuit Catholic 101

How do you pronounce Jesuit?

There are three ways to correctly say Jesuit: ˈje-zü-ət, je-zhü-ət, and je-zyü-ət.

What are Jesuit values?

Taking action against the things that degrade human dignity; tending to the whole person; uniting the mind and heart; amplifying the voices of the underserved, disadvantaged, and poor — these humanistic ideals have guided Jesuits for centuries.

Learn more about our values

What does it mean to be Jesuit Educated?

A Jesuit education is a commitment to explore, engage, and improve the world around us. Our campus serves as a platform for complicated conversations, and a meeting place for individuals and communities to showcase their distinct perspectives.

Students arrive at USF from all walks of life, with all kinds of interests. But they leave with a shared hunger as well as the tools to explore life’s biggest questions.

So what compels you?

Jesuit Catholic on Campus

Is the student body mostly Catholic?

No. Catholics make up less than half of our undergraduate student body. The rest identifies as Buddhist, Hindu, Jewish, Muslim, Atheist, and Protestant — or they aren’t affiliated with a religious group.

Am I required to attend Catholic Church services?

That’s up to you: Mass is available but not required. Our Jesuit Catholic liturgies inspire people of all faiths, but our style of worship isn’t imposed on students. And while we provide activities that explore Ignatian spirituality, we complement them with opportunities to unite a diverse environment where individuals from all faiths or no religious affiliations coexist.

Learn more about University Ministry

Is there a theology requirement?

Yes. However, students are not required to study Catholicism. Our theology and religious studies requirement — an essential part of USF's core curriculum — uses religious diversity, the human experience, social justice, and ethics as a framework for examining spirituality.