Bell tower at St Ignatius Church at sundown

Leo T. McCarthy Center for Public Service and the Common Good

McCarthy Award Past Honorees

The award is given bi-annually to an individual whose work makes a difference in the lives of people most affected by injustice. Recipients exemplify Leo McCarthy’s values of leadership for the common good. They show compassion for those less privileged and marginalized, and have a track record of service to make people’s lives better. Their lives illustrate high ethical standards.


This year’s award recipients, Janet and Clint Reilly, founded Bay Scholars, a nonprofit that creates educational equity for students from underserved communities through $7M in scholarships to successful Catholic high schools in the Bay Area. Janet Reilly is the co-founder and board president of Clinic by the Bay, a free, volunteer-powered health clinic for the working uninsured in San Francisco and San Mateo counties. Clint Reilly, serves on multiple Boards and most notably spearheaded Catholic Charities of San Francisco initiative to put the social services arm of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of San Francisco on solid financial footing.


Under the leadership of former university president Fr. Stephen A. Privett, S.J., USF moved into the vanguard of U.S. higher education by requiring all undergraduate students to engage in service learning. As one of the founders of the McCarthy Center, he helped establish an institution that continues to prepare USF students for community and political engagement and that leads in shaping the entire field of civic engagement in higher education with a vision of social justice.

View Photos from the Event


As mayor of San Francisco, Art Agnos pioneered welfare reform programs, worked to ban discrimination based on sexual orientation, and was among the first to address the growing HIV/AIDS epidemic by creating an HIV/AIDS task force and dramatically increasing the city’s AIDS budget. Later, as regional director of the U.S. Department of Housing and Urban Development, he championed affordable housing.

Our Sponsors

Thank you to our generous sponsors of the Leo T. McCarthy Award:

Leo's Legacy Circle

  • Janet & Clint Reilly


  • Cotchett, Pitre & McCarthy
  • Walter & Elise Haas Fund
  • Adam & Heather McCarthy
  • Niall & Yvonne McCarthy
  • Craig Newmark Philanthropies
  • Diane B. Wilsey


  • Sharon McCarthy Allen & Dale Allen
  • CommonSpirit Health Foundation
  • Holly Hogan & Thomas Holmes
  • Jacqueline McCarthy
  • Scott Patterson
  • Ron & Karen Rose
  • Taube Philanthropies


  • Nancy Barrett & Francis Beneduci
  • Conna McCarthy & Peter Craigie
  • Marie & John Duggan
  • New Deal Advisers
  • Margaret & Brent Simor
  • USF Development Division
  • Gina & Dan Waldman in honor of Jacqueline McCarthy
  • YMCA of San Francisco
  • Sacred Heart Cathedral Preparatory


  • Giants Enterprises
  • Golden State Warriors
  • Steven Kay
  • Lionel Shaw
  • Janet & Larry Simi
  • Roslyne Swig


  • Archbishop Riordan High School
  • Boys & Girls Clubs of San Francisco
  • Natalie Cirigliano Brosnan
  • Derick & Tracie Brown
  • CORO Northern California
  • Rodney Chin
  • De La Salle High School
  • Hon. & Mrs. Robert Dondero (in honor of Sharon McCarthy Allen and Niall McCarthy)
  • Alicia Gamez
  • Alex Grab
  • Ed Harrington
  • Joanne Hayes-White
  • Michael Kelly
  • Courtney & Doug Kilroy
  • Hon. Donald King & Nikki King
  • Mary Leslie
  • Irena Matijas
  • Moreau Catholic High School
  • Alexandra Morgan
  • Elizabeth O’Callahan
  • Pamela Balls-Organista & Kurt Organista
  • Michael Paganini
  • The Wayne Bautista & Alfredo Pedroza Fund
  • Perla Rodriguez & Rolando Bonilla
  • St. Anthony Foundation
  • Salesian College Preparatory High School
  • San Francisco Goodwill
  • United Airlines
  • Dominic Tarantino


  • Mike Wittenwyler
  • Stephen Pezzola and Marc Colelli
  • William Rogers
  • Rosa Terrazas
  • Betty Louie
  • Jeff and Caitlin Congdon
  • Elmy Bermejo
  • Dick Grosboll
  • Wilson Farmer Family Fund
  • Art and Sherry Agnos


  • Linda Grimes
  • Barry Thornton
  • Judson True
  • Patrick Johnston
  • Costanza Foran
  • Vikrum Aiyer
  • Deriana Brown
  • Tami Bryant
  • Pablo Cardena
  • James Child
  • Sheryl Davis
  • Fr. Charles Gagan
  • Honorable Quentin Kopp
  • Provost Chinyere Oparah
  • Xiaohua Yang
  • Araceli Tamayo-Lee
  • Joaquin Torres
  • Galen Wilson
  • PG Hayes
  • Lisa Nevin
  • Stephanie Sears
  • Rachel Brahinsky
  • Paul Richardson
  • Cassie Light
  • Cormac McCarthy Craigie
  • Elizabeth and Michael Kersten
  • Mary & Dick Warren
  • Lynn & John Catchings
  • Nancy McMonigle
  • Denise LaPointe
  • Alicia Gamez
  • Michael Kelly
  • Alasdair Clements
  • Kevin Allen
  • Jamie Baker
  • Niki Nielsen
  • Paul Reulbach
  • Phil Spiegel
  • Paul Richardson
  • Lucas Sharma
  • Suzie and Declan Sheedy
  • Melanie Nguyen
  • Bob Just
  • Teresa Moore
  • Lloyd Schine
  • Galen Wilson
  • Tenoch Flores
  • Julie Guevara
  • Jamie Bruning-Miles
  • Sebastien Nguyen
  • Eva Monroe
  • Jessica Stanfill Mullin
  • Donald Magilligan
  • Silena Beatrice Layne
  • Michael Flocchini
  • Chad Nico Hiu
  • Michelle & Mark Harvey
  • Susana Lapeyrade-Drummond
  • Sharon Singam
  • Kibibi Shaw
  • Joan Henricks
  • Stephen Murphy
  • John Kunzweiler
  • Brandon Graves
  • Bruce Agid
  • Laura Held
  • Elizabeth Solomon