The University of San Francisco: School of Nursing and Health Professions

Crawford Lecture 2008

The Spring 2008 Crawford Lecture Series

"Nursing is the Answer"

Dr. Joanne Disch, Professor and Director of the Katharine J. Densford International Center for Nursing Leadership at the University of Minnesota School of Nursing was the presenter. Dr. Disch presented on the America’s health care system and the upcoming challenges for nurses.

Rather than continuing down the same path, we need fresh thinking, new ideas and ‘the nursing lens’ for health care reform to succeed.  This presentation described the nursing lens, reviewed nursing from several contemporary perspectives, and highlighted a number of innovative, nursing-generated options for health care that are convenient, effective, personalized, and economical. Nurses are the solution -

Dr. Disch has extensive experience as educator, chief nurse executive, leader, researcher, policy-maker, and spokesperson .In April 2006, Dr. Disch was elected Chairman of the National Board AARP, formerly known as the American Association of Retired Persons, for a two-year term.  In other volunteer activities, Dr. Disch served as president of the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN), and president of the AACN Certification Board. She also chaired the American Nurses Association's Committee on Nursing Practice Standards and Guidelines, and the University Healthcare Consortium's Council of Chief Nurse Executives. Currently she is a Contributing Editor for the American Journal of Nursing, and is a member of the Board of Directors for Allina Health System.  She is a Fellow in the American Academy of Nursing.

Dr. Disch has received numerous awards including the Dorothy Garrigus Adams Award for Excellence in Fostering Professional Standards from Sigma Theta Tau International; Outstanding Faculty Member at Rush University College of Nursing; Outstanding Alumna Awards from the University of Wisconsin School of Nursing and the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Nursing; and, most recently, the GE Pioneering Spirit Award from the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses.