Advocacy Competition Teams

USF’s Advanced Moot Court Advocacy Competition Teams compete locally and nationally against other law schools in appellate and trial competitions each year, arguing the fine points of constitutional law, employment law, environmental law, and more. Every year approximately 45 USF law students participate on various advanced competition teams. 

My experiences with the moot court competitions, trial practice class, and the narcotics prosecution clinic were invaluable. Standing up in court as a second year law student and arguing motions and assisting with a preliminary hearing—that's a very unique opportunity.


During 2016-2017 USF teams will compete in the following competitions:

  • American Bar Association National Appellate Advocacy Competition 
    (Sally Horna, Karissa Miskell, Amiee Shin, Wasif Khan, Yohannes Moore, Talia Tououl)
  • Asylum and Refugee Law Moot Court Competition 
    (Carla Lopez Perez, Agustin Vega Peters, Isobel Healy, Lizett Rodriguez)
  • Criminal Procedure Tournament
    (Ward Hoskins, Robert Lopez)
  • In Vino Veritas Mock Trial Competition
    (Ricardo Avila, Sara Bushman, Alejandra Ramirez, Shawshawnya Worley)
  • Judge John R. Brown Admiralty Moot Court Competition
    (James Germain, Ashleigh Gideon, Brandon Welch, Zachary Davina, Sara Escalante, Ben Rasmussen)
  • National Criminal Trial Advocacy Competition 
    (Melika Farnia, Jade Quintero, Erica Roth, Alexander Thayer)
  • Saul Lefkowitz Intellectual Property Moot Court Competition 
    (Daniel Gaitan, Jeff Hughes, Nguyen La, Liam McNamara, Luis Colula, Dahn Levine, Lana Persaud, Lisa Pinelli)
  • Thomas Tang International Moot Court Competition 
    (Victor Ng, Matt Vann, Amy Bogart, Crystal Pizano)
  • Wagner Employment and Labor Law Moot Court Competition 
    (Natalie Navar, Cassie Peabody, Sabha Salamah)

CourtCall Award Criteria

The University of San Francisco School of Law’s Moot Court Program will be giving out two achievement awards this year. All Third year students participating on a moot court team are eligible. Team members will be nominated by the Moot Court Board and the winners will be selected by the Director. Each winner will receive $250 from CourtCall. Winners will be announced by April 1, 2017.

  • CourtCall Award for Best Trial Advocate: this will be given to the member of a trial advocacy team who contributes most to the success of their team. Criteria include: teamwork, effectiveness of direct and cross examination; persuasiveness of opening or closing statements; command of objections and responses to objections.
  • CourtCall Award for Best Appellate Advocate: this award will be given to the member of an appellate team who contributes most to the success of their team. Criteria include: teamwork; written advocacy; oral advocacy.