Gregory Blaine ’91 Wins 2016 Alumnus of the Year Award at Alumni Graduates Dinner

Posted Tue, 05/24/2016 - 14:06

The Alumni Graduates Dinner on May 18 brought together hundreds of alumni, students, and faculty to celebrate the several outstanding members of the USF School of Law community at the Four Seasons Hotel in San Francisco.

Gregory H. Blaine ’91 received the Alumnus of the Year Award for his outstanding professional achievement and dedication and generosity to the law school. Blaine is a member of the USF Board of Trustees, the School of Law’s Board of Counselors, and the Dean’s Circle. He is the CEO of California Property Services, a private real estate investment and management company. He has also served as a San Francisco Assessment Appeals Board Commissioner and chairman of the Presidio Performing Arts Foundation.

“In the finest USF tradition, Greg Blaine has demonstrated himself to be a true leader in San Francisco,” said Christopher Viadro ’92, the new president of the Board of Governors. “His service on public boards as well as those associated with the university and the School of Law exemplify service and dedication to the community, the model of any USF School of Law graduate.”

“I was honored to receive the Alumnus of the Year award,” Blaine said. “It represents years of relationship-building in support of the law school. Working through the law school and supporting it has been a great way to leverage my time and resources to help students and the community.”

Several other awards were presented that evening. Professor and Associate Dean for Faculty Scholarship Michelle Travis was selected by graduating students for this year’s John Adler Distinguished Professor Award. This is the third time she has received the honor.

“She is dedicated, brilliant, scholarly, and cares deeply for the students,” said Associate Dean Joshua Davis.

Travis described how the Class of 2016 stuck her as extraordinary, for their humanity towards each other as they listened, learned from, and respected each other. “You have really been in this together,” she said. “You have inspired me, taught me, humbled me, and most importantly, you have made me optimistic. I have no doubt the legal profession is in good hands.”

Erin O’Donnell ’00 received the John J. Meehan Alumni Fellow Award for Mentorship for her volunteer work teaching, mentoring, and supervising numerous Criminal and Juvenile Justice Law Clinic students. She thanked her first criminal defense mentor, Professor Sharon Meadows, for showing her “how to be an advocate, how to stand up and defend someone who is indefensible, how important that was.”

The Hon. Ira A. Brown Jr. Distinguished Adjunct Professor Award was presented to Dominic Daher, who teaches in the taxation program and is the director of USF’s internal audit and tax compliance.

Several students were also honored. Cooper Findlay '16 was voted by his peers to receive the Student Bar Association Award for his significant contributions to the character of the law school. Vincent Townsend 3L and LLM in Taxation student Elizabeth Catlin Lyon received the new Andersen Tax Awards for their academic achievements in the tax program.

The USF School of Law graciously acknowledges event benefactors Hanson Bridgett LLP; event patron Walkup Melodia Kelly & Schoenberger; and event sponsors Kaye • Moser • Hierbaum LLP, Lieff Cabraser Heimann & Bernstein LLP, Murphy Pearson Bradley & Feeney, Saveri & Saveri, Inc, and Trombadore Gonden Law Group LLP.

View more photos from the event on Flickr.