Hi! Did you know your browser is outdated? For a more robust web experience we recommend using Safari, Firefox, Chrome or Opera.
Bill Monning_thumb
California Senate Majority Leader is USF Law AlumnusStory
Six Bay Area Sports Teams’ In-House Counsels Shed Light on Sports BusinessStory
John Adler_thumb

Three Law Faculty Members Receive University Merit Awards

Molly Moriarty Lane ’90 Wins Alum of the Year Award at Alumni Graduates DinnerStory
Class of 2015 Celebrates GraduationStory
Professor Tim Iglesias Appointed to California Fair Employment and Housing CouncilStory
Steve Hamill_thumb2
Stephen Hamill ’78 Elected Chair of USF Board of TrusteesStory
Dom Daher NACUBO tax award 2015_thumb
Adjunct Professor Dominic Daher Wins Prestigious Tax AwardStory

Alumni Graduates Dinner Celebrates Class of 2013

May 17, 2013

Nearly 300 graduating students, alumni, faculty, and staff gathered at the InterContinental Hotel May 15 to salute the class of 2013 and present a number of faculty and student awards at the annual Alumni Graduates Dinner.

For the tenth time Professor John Adler received the Distinguished Faculty Award, which is voted on by graduating students. In accepting the award, Adler recognized the “phenomenal collection of teachers” and the “engaged and engaging students.”

Acknowledging the challenge graduates have ahead, Adler reflected on his own winding career path and encouraged students to “be optimistic and follow your own path. As my cowboy neighbor used to say, ‘When you drink from the stream, make sure you’re upstream from the herd.’ Who knows what he meant,” Adler laughed, “but I think that means you should think outside the box and do what you need to do to get there, and be separate from the herd.”

The Hon. Ira A. Brown Jr. Distinguished Adjunct Professor Award was presented to Peter Harvey, a partner with Harvey Siskind LLP and counsel for the International Trademark Association. About teaching entertainment and media law, Harvey said, “I can’t tell you how much a gift teaching has been for me. Standing before students each year helps me ask the questions I need to ask.”

Student Bar Association President Jamal Anderson ’13 received the Student Bar Association Award, which is voted on by the graduating class to recognize character, service, and leadership. Earlier in the evening Anderson and Tom Trombadore ’88, president of the law school’s Board of Governors, each honored Dean Jeffrey Brand, as he steps down after 14 years as dean, for his accomplishments and deep connections to students and alumni.

The event was supported by Benefactor Anne and Robert ’75 Arns/Tournesol Winery, Patron Trombadore Gonden Law Group LLP, and Sponsor Murphy Pearson Bradley & Feeney.

See more photos on Flickr.