Hi! Did you know your browser is outdated? For a more robust web experience we recommend using Safari, Firefox, Chrome or Opera.
Six Bay Area Sports Teams’ In-House Counsels Shed Light on Sports BusinessStory
John Adler_thumb

Three Law Faculty Members Receive University Merit Awards

Molly Moriarty Lane ’90 Wins Alum of the Year Award at Alumni Graduates DinnerStory
Class of 2015 Celebrates GraduationStory
Professor Tim Iglesias Appointed to California Fair Employment and Housing CouncilStory
Steve Hamill_thumb2
Stephen Hamill ’78 Elected Chair of USF Board of TrusteesStory
Dom Daher NACUBO tax award 2015_thumb
Adjunct Professor Dominic Daher Wins Prestigious Tax AwardStory
Students Gain Invaluable Hands-On Experience in 2015 Intensive Advocacy ProgramStory

Alumni Organizations

Many USF School of Law alumni maintain ties to the law school through participation in various alumni organizations.

Law Society

Students are drawn to USF School of Law for the high quality of legal training and the knowledge that their connection to the school will not end at graduation. All alumni are members of The Law Society. The Law Society makes it possible for law school associations and benefits to continue for a lifetime.

The Law Society's goals are to:

  • Advance the cause of legal education
  • Promote the interests and welfare of the USF School of Law
  • Foster loyalty and community among alumni
  • Further the principles of, and actively support, the University of San Francisco

Each year, the Law Society presents the Alumnus of the Year award. Since 1991, this award has honored alumni who have distinguished themselves by their professional accomplishments, public service, or service to the law school. Honorees include Hon. Saundra Brown Armstrong '77, Robert Bianco '61, Donald Carano '59, Hon. Ming Chin '67, Hon. Judith R. Epstein '77, Hon. Donald King '58, Tedodore Kolb '45 and Stephen Hamill '78.

The Law Society also sponsors the Alumni Graduates Dinner each May. The dinner provides an occasion to congratulate the graduating students and welcome them as members of the Law Society. 

Board of Governors

The Board of Governors provides leadership to sustain an active alumni community. They participate in key law school functions, campaigns and special endeavors, and offer advice and counsel to the law school administration.

Members of the Law Society's Board of Governors are:

Executive Committee
  • Merton Howard ‘92, President
  • Tom Trombadore '88, Immediate Past President
  • Daniel Dean '92, Past President
Members at Large
Jeffrey Belote '82 Jessica Grant '95 Stacy Miller-Azcarate '96
Henry Brown '89 William Grayson '85 Barbara Moser '90
Aileen Casanave '84 Nichelle Holmes '10 Faisal Shah '86
Cherisse Cleofe '12 Michael Laurenson '97 Peter Toren '85
Cameron Cloar '09 Elinor Leary '03 Denise Trani-Morris '86
Cometria Cooper '09     Jennifer Baker Loeb '09     Christopher Viadro '92
Adrian Driscoll '80 David McDonald '89 Diane Webb '98
Manny Fortes '85    
BOG 2014
Members of the 2014-15 Board of Governors
Back Row (left to right): Jennifer Baker Loeb, Chris Viadro, Manny Fortes, Diane Webb, Peter Toren, Dean John Trasvina, David McDonald, Tom Trombadore, Adrian Driscoll
Front Row (left to right): Cameron Cloar, Cometria Cooper, Dan Dean, Mert Howard, Denise Trani-Morris, Elinor Leary, Nichelle Holmes, Cherisse Cleofe, Aileen Casanave, Stacy Miller Azcarate
Not Pictured: Jeff Belote, Michael Laurenson, Barbara Moser, Faisal Shah

Board of Counselors

The Board of Counselors is a distinguished group of alumni and friends of the law school who provide the Dean with advice about the mission, direction and future of the law school.

Members of the Board of Counselors:

Hon. Saundra B. Armstrong '77      Lawrence M. Cirelli '84     Hon. Daniel M. Hanlon '64 (Ret.)      Lindbergh Porter Jr. '81     
Gregory Blaine '91 Peter J. Donnici Elizabeth Helfrich '58 Michael Raddie '60
Michael K. Brown '82 Robert E. Dryden '54 Judd C. Iversen '71 Janice Ramsay '69
James M. Canty '66 Hon. Judith Epstein '77 Hon. Martin J. Jenkins '80 Robert A. Randick '69
Donald Carano '59 Paul Finigan '72 Molly M. Lane '90, President John C. Siegel '77
Doris Cheng '98      Peter Folger '73      John L. McDonnell Jr. '63  
Hon. Ming W. Chin '67 James Fox '69 J. Patrick Mohan '73  

Women Lawyers Committee

The USF Women Lawyers Committee was founded more than 20 years ago by a group of USF law school graduates who wanted to maintain the close ties they formed with other women during law school, provide guidance and support for current law students, through activities such as a Mentor Program for USF JD students, and establish a full-tuition Scholarship for Transitional Students to help them make the transition from another career to law school.