The Center for Asia Pacific Studies’ merit-based Asia Bridge Junior Fellowship for undergraduates provides outstanding students with the opportunity to engage with the center and Asia.

This program is designed to create a community of young scholars studying Asia at USF and to teach them valuable skills that will help them succeed in today’s increasingly globalized world. Junior fellows will emerge from the year long program with skills that will help them succeed in their future careers.


  • Research workshops on conducting research, data analysis, writing, and public speaking
  • Mentoring from academics in the field of Asia Pacific studies through office hours and workshops
  • Produce a 12-15 page paper to use as a writing sample for future employment and graduate school applications
  • Community building events to interact with students and scholars with similar interests
  • Membership on the Center for Asia Pacific Studies Student Events Committee and event management experience from planning one event per semester with the committee
  • $500 award for those who complete all of the requirements for the program

Application Deadline: Closed for 2021-22


Applicants must be a current USF undergraduate entering sophomore, junior, or senior year.

How to Apply

Submit a copy of the following to

  • Resume
    Include your major and expected date of graduation.
  • Cover letter
    Explain your interest in the program and the topic you would like to learn more about through your research.

Current Junior Fellows

  • Reinier Bautista, 2022-2023

  • Qiyue Chen, 2022-2023

  • Cindy Hoang, 2022-2023

  • Corina Mong, 2022-2023

  • John Sieber, 2022-2023

  • Zhirui Wang, 2022-2023

Former Junior Fellows

  • Celeste Baird, 2021-2022
  • Eshita Kalidindi, 2021-2022
  • Sally Yang, 2021-2022
  • Madison Burk, 2020-2021
  • Emily Chang, 2020-2021
  • Frances Eusebio, 2020-2021
  • Natalie Ortez-Arevalo, 2020-2021
  • Sunshine Joyce Batasin, 2019-2020
  • Yoogyeong Hwang, 2019-2020
  • Craig Okahara-Olsen, 2019-2020
  • Audrey Tran, 2019-2020