city view at night
streetcar on market
flowers at Kalmanovitz
Shurin and Brady
Kalmanovitz front door
girl with braids
reading series speaker
MFA students and Kate Brady

MFA in Writing News

Faculty News

Congratulations to D. A. Powell, who is the 2015 recipient of the Shelley Memorial Award from the Poetry Society of America.

Bich (Beth) Minh Nguyen is now the academic director for the MFA program.

Lewis Buzbee's new book, Blackboard: A Personal History of the Classrom was just published by Graywolf Press.

Joshua Mohr's novel, Fight Song, was published by Counterpoint/Soft Skull in 2013.

D.A. Powell's book of poems, Useless Landscape, or A Guide for Boys, published by Graywolf Press in 2012, won the National Book Critics Circle Award for Poetry. Repast, a collection of his first three books, Tea, Lunch, and Cocktails, was just published by Graywolf Press.

Nina Schuyler's novel, The Translator, was published by Pegasus Books in 2013.

Susan Steinberg's collection of short stories, Spectacle, was published by Graywolf Press in 2013. Spectacle was featured on Oprah's 2013 Summer Reading List and is a finalist for the L.A. Times Book Prize.

For more information and live links to interviews, readings, reviews, and author websites visit the faculty bio page and click on a faculty member's name.

MFA Events

Tuesday, Nov 11, 7:45 pm             David Wojahn will be reading for the MFA program's Lone Mountain Reading Series. For more info click here.

Thursday, Nov 17, 2015, 5:45 pm
Arts and Sciences Graduate Open House
USF Main Campus, McLaren Center, Room 250

Tuesday, Jan TBD, 2016, 5:30 pm
Arts and Sciences Graduate Open House
USF Main Campus, McLaren Center, Room 250

Student & Alumni News

Joseph Gordon ('16) won the 2015 AWP/Intro Journals award for his poem "She Shipped Her Cock Priority." 

Courtney Moreno's ('12) debut novel, In Case of Emergency, has been named Best Book for Fall 2014 by the Huffington Post and Bustle

Shanley Jacobs ('15) won the 2014 AWP Intro/Journals award for her creative nonfiction piece, "The Oriel Window."

Aaron Francis ('13) won the 2013 AWP Intro/Journals award for his story "Megan's Home."

Deborah Bloch's ('09) novel That Old Song and Dance was published by Barbarian Books in 2012.

Chris Malcomb ('09) received a Pushcart Prize nomination for his essay "Learning to Breathe" published in Under the Sun in 2012.

Anne Ryles ('08) was named a finalist for the 2013 Flannery O'Connor Award for Short Fiction.

Lindsay Tam Holland's ('07) book, The Counterfeit Family Tree of Vee Crawford-Wong was published by Simon & Schuster in 2013.

Jess Kroll's ('07) novel, Land of Smiles, was published by Monsoon Books in 2013.

Thomas Peele's ('07) book, Killing the Messenger: A Story of Radical Faith, Racism's Backlash, and the Assasination of a Journalist, was published by Random House in 2012. Peele was recently reviewed for his new book on KQED by Michael Krasney.

Jen Larsen's ('06) book, Stranger Here: How Weight Loss Surgery Transformed My Body and Messed With My Head was published by Seal Press in 2013. Larsen was also interviewed about her book on MSNBC.

Craig Santos Perez (’06) was chosen to represent Guam at Poetry Parnassus, a weeklong festival during the London 2012 Olympics.

Fran Moreland Johns's ('00) book, Perilous Times: An Inside Look at Abortion before-and-after Roe v Wade was published by YBK Publishers in 2013.

Ken Rodgers' ('00) documentary film, Bravo! Common Men, Uncommon Valor (a story of Bravo Company, 1st Battalion, 26th Marines during he Vietnam War), was released in 2012.

Jane Porter's (94') novel, The Good Woman was published by Penquin in 2012.