the generosity of a Lone Mountain alumna and educator who wishes to remain
anonymous, the charming wood-paneled seminar room on the stairway landing
between the first and second floors of the Lone Mountain main building has been
endowed. At the donor’s request, the
room will be dedicated to the Religious of the Sacred Heart (RSCJ) and will be
a lasting celebration of the legacy of San Francisco College for Women/Lone
Mountain and the RSCJ who founded it.
partnership with the University of San Francisco and Fr. Tom Lucas, who first proposed
the Heritage Room in 2011, the Lone Mountain Alumnae Board hopes to complete
the room in time for the Oct. 19, 2014 annual reunion.
in the room will be transformed into six or seven glass cases with lighting,
presenting the SFCW/Lone Mountain story by decade, beginning with the college’s
founding and early years and continuing through the final years, closure and
campus purchase by the University of San Francisco. There will also be displays
of the RSCJ who led and taught at Lone Mountain and on the Alumnae of the
Sacred Heart Lone Mountain’s eight decades of support for their alma mater
before and after its closing. Each
section will include text, photographs and three-dimensional objects that
capture the story.
While many alumnae have come forward
to offer yearbooks, photographs and memorabilia, more materials from all
decades that SFCW/Lone Mountain existed (1931-1976) are needed to complete the
chronological displays. Alumnae who have
any materials to share are urged to contact Alumnae Board President Elizabeth
Francisco Thomas ’67 at 510-625-0850 or firstname.lastname@example.org.