handtalker_150
usf_overview_560
study_handface_560
nurs_stucowellfront_560
USF students enjoying sunshine on the grass

 

Retention and Persistence Committee

Committee Charge

The Retention and Persistence Committee has the following charge:
Using institutional data, study the processes and procedures to help students persist and graduate within four years for those who enter USF as freshmen, and within the typical program time frame, as well as for those who enter USF as transfers or graduate students. Make recommendations for changes and/or enhancements to processes and procedures, from admission through graduation, to eliminate redundancy, improve efficiency, streamline the student experience and facilitate student success.

  • Review recommendations from Stay on Track committee for continued efficacy or dissolution
  • Study measures for retention and set goals for continued improvement
  • Study statistics for 4-year and 6-year graduation rates and set goals for continued improvement
  • Analyze statistics of specific schools and programs
  • Analyze statistics for specific student populations and make recommendations for changes and/or enhancements that are likely to lead to improvements, including: African American, Latin@, Asian American, Native American, Caucasian, International, Athletes, Pell Grant recipients, first-generation college students, others as recommended by committee members.
  • Review MAPWorks and Admitted Student Questionnaire data and evaluate follow-up procedures
  • Review DegreeWorks implementation
  • Make recommendations for how faculty can become involved in procedural changes
  • Analyze any and all relevant policies or procedures as needed
  • Create sub-committees as needed

Retention and Persistence Committee Members

Pamela Balls-Organista
Associate Dean for Social Sciences
College of Arts and Sciences
organistap@usfca.edu

Robert Bromfield
University Registrar and Associate Dean
Enrollment Management
rlbromfield@usfca.edu

Christopher H Brooks
Associate Dean for Sciences
Associate Professor, Computer Science
College of Arts and Sciences
cbrooks@usfca.edu

Shawn P Calhoun
Associate Dean and Department Head of Access Services
Gleeson Library / Geschke Center
calhouns@usfca.edu

Marilyn E Delaure
Associate Professor, Communication Studies
College of Arts and Sciences
medelaure@usfca.edu

Laura Gerth
Director
International Student and Scholar Services
lgerth@usfca.edu

Joseph A Henson
Director
Office of Institutional Analytics
jhenson2@usfca.edu

Alexander B Hochman
Assistant Director
Priscilla A. Scotlan Career Services Center
ahochman@usfca.edu

Katy Juranty
Academic Success Coach
Center for Academic and Student Achievement
kajuranty@usfca.edu

Eileen Maruyama Fung
Associate Dean
College of Arts and Sciences
fung@usfca.edu

Charlene P Lobo Soriano
Academic Success Coach
Center for Academic and Student Achievement
lobo@usfca.edu

Marvella Luey

Assistant Dean
Center for Academic and Student Achievement 
lueym@usfca.edu

Patricia V Lynch
Associate Dean for Pre-Licensure Program
School of Nursing and Health Professions
lynch@usfca.edu

Shirley McGuire
Associate Dean for Faculty Scholarship and Academic Effectiveness
College of Arts and Sciences
mcguire@usfca.edu

Julio E Moreno
Associate Professor, History
College of Arts and Sciences
moreno@usfca.edu

Susan L Murphy
Senior Associate Dean and Director
Enrollment and Financial Services
murphy@usfca.edu

Peter J Novak
Vice Provost
Student Life 
novakp@usfca.edu

Julie Orio
Associate Vice Provost and Associate Dean of Student Development
Dean of Students
orioj@usfca.edu

Deanna L Pachinger
Assistant Dean
Center for Academic and Student Achievement 
pachinger@usfca.edu

Susan Kay Prion
Associate Professor
School of Nursing and Health Professions 
prions@usfca.edu

Laleh Shahideh
Associate Vice Provost and Dean of Academic Student Services
Center for Academic and Student Achievement 
shahideh@usfca.edu

Richard W Stackman
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs
School of Management 
rwstackman@usfca.edu

Peggy K Takahashi
Associate Professor
School of Management 
takahaship@usfca.edu

Mary J Wardell-Ghirarduzzi
Vice Provost for Diversity and Community Engagement
Office of Diversity and Engagement 
mjwardell@usfca.edu

Gregory V Wolcott
Assistant Vice Provost of Student Engagement
Student Leadership and Engagement 
gvwolcott@usfca.edu

 

Subcommittees

Deficiency Reporting and Graduation Check

Robert Bromfield
University Registrar and Associate Dean
Enrollment Management
rlbromfield@usfca.edu

Marvella Luey
Assistant Dean
Center for Academic and Student Achievement 
lueym@usfca.edu

Shirley McGuire
Associate Dean for Faculty Scholarship and Academic Effectiveness
College of Arts and Sciences
mcguire@usfca.edu

Tonya Miller
Assistant Dean, Student Academic Services
College of Arts and Sciences
miller@usfca.edu 

Susan L Murphy
Senior Associate Dean and Director
Enrollment and Financial Services
murphy@usfca.edu

Deanna L Pachinger
Assistant Dean
Center for Academic and Student Achievement 
pachinger@usfca.edu

Susan Solomon
Lead Coordinator
Graduation Center
solomon@usfca.edu

Advising

Robert Bromfield
University Registrar and Associate Dean
Enrollment Management
rlbromfield@usfca.edu

Michael Collins
Associate Professor, Hospitality Management
School of Management
mdcollins@usfca.edu

Marilyn E Delaure
Associate Professor, Communication Studies
College of Arts and Sciences
medelaure@usfca.edu

Alexander B Hochman
Assistant Director
Priscilla A. Scotlan Career Services Center
ahochman@usfca.edu

Marvella Luey
Assistant Dean
Center for Academic and Student Achievement 
lueym@usfca.edu

Patricia V Lynch
Associate Dean for Pre-Licensure Program
School of Nursing and Health Professions
lynch@usfca.edu

Deanna L Pachinger
Assistant Dean
Center for Academic and Student Achievement 
pachinger@usfca.edu

Susan Kay Prion
Associate Professor
School of Nursing and Health Professions 
prions@usfca.edu

Laleh Shahideh
Associate Vice Provost and Dean of Academic Student Services
Center for Academic and Student Achievement 
shahideh@usfca.edu

Historically Underrepresented Ethnic Minority Students

Shawn P Calhoun
Associate Dean and Department Head of Access Services
Gleeson Library / Geschke Center
calhouns@usfca.edu

Alejandro Covarrubias
Assistant Director
Cultural Centers
afcovarrubias@usfca.edu

Eileen Fung
Associate Dean
College of Arts and Sciences
fung@usfca.edu

Julio E Moreno
Associate Professor, History
College of Arts and Sciences
moreno@usfca.edu

Julie Orio
Associate Vice Provost and Associate Dean of Student Development
Dean of Students
orioj@usfca.edu

Gerardo Ureno
Academic Success Coach
Center for Academic and Student Achievement
gureno@usfca.edu

Mary J Wardell-Ghirarduzzi
Vice Provost for Diversity and Community Engagement
Office of Diversity and Engagement 
mjwardell@usfca.edu

Admission and First-Year Students (Freshman and Transfer)

Shawn P Calhoun
Associate Dean and Department Head of Access Services
Gleeson Library / Geschke Center
calhouns@usfca.edu

Dena Davis
Assistant Dean
Center for Academic and Student Achievement
davisd@usfca.edu

Marilyn E Delaure
Associate Professor, Communication Studies
College of Arts and Sciences
medelaure@usfca.edu

Joseph Garity
Reference Librarian and Coordinator of Library Instruction
Gleeson Library / Geschke Center
garity@usfca.edu

Charlene P Lobo Soriano
Academic Success Coach
Center for Academic and Student Achievement
lobo@usfca.edu

Susan L Murphy
Senior Associate Dean and Director
Enrollment and Financial Services
murphy@usfca.edu

Mark Priolo
Senior Associate Director
Transfer Admission
mdpriolo@usfca.edu

Susan Kay Prion
Associate Professor
School of Nursing and Health Professions 
prions@usfca.edu

Sara Solloway
Academic Success Coach
Center for Academic and Student Achievement
slsolloway@usfca.edu

Gregory V Wolcott
Assistant Vice Provost of Student Engagement
Student Leadership and Engagement 
gvwolcott@usfca.edu

Students At Risk / Students Who Succeed

Christopher H Brooks

Associate Dean for Sciences
Associate Professor, Computer Science
College of Arts and Sciences
cbrooks@usfca.edu

Shona Doyle
Assistant Dean for Staff Development
Center for Academic and Student Achievement
doyles@usfca.edu

Katy Juranty
Academic Success Coach
Center for Academic and Student Achievement
kajuranty@usfca.edu

Charlene P Lobo Soriano
Academic Success Coach
Center for Academic and Student Achievement
lobo@usfca.edu

Patricia V Lynch
Associate Dean for Pre-Licensure Program
School of Nursing and Health Professions
lynch@usfca.edu

Julie Orio
Associate Vice Provost and Associate Dean of Student Development
Dean of Students
orioj@usfca.edu

Richard W Stackman
Associate Dean of Undergraduate Programs
School of Management 
rwstackman@usfca.edu

Michael Tadesse-Bell
Academic Success Coach
Center for Academic and Student Achievement
mjbell@usfca.edu

International Students

Laura Gerth
Director
International Student and Scholar Services
lgerth@usfca.edu

Zhiqiang Li
Associate Professor, Modern and Classical Languages
College of Arts and Sciences
zli2@usfca.edu

Laleh Shahideh
Associate Vice Provost and Dean of Academic Student Services
Center for Academic and Student Achievement 
svarelaacevedo@usfca.edu

Guanzi Shen
Academic Success Coach
Center for Academic and Student Achievement
gshen3@usfca.edu

Sara Varela-Acevedo
Assistant Director
International Admission
svarelaacevedo@usfca.edu