Adjunct Faculty

The School of Education is home to a talented, knowledgeable, and experienced group of adjunct faculty.

Working in collaboration with our full-time faculty in the various departments, these educators provide excellence in teaching, scholarly research, creative expression, and service to our students.

Tel: n/a
adams@usfca.edu

Maureen Adams, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
The human-animal bond from the perspective of attachment theory; lifespan development; research and writing as means of self discovery.

Tel: n/a
ainsworth@usfca.edu

Tanda Ainsworth, M.A., MFT

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Neuroscience; psychopharmacology; life transitions; and domestic violence.

Tel: n/a
baab@usfca.edu

Benjamin F. Baab, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Digitial Technologies for Teaching and Learning; Learning and Instruction

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Research methods; analysis; technology in higher education; training software; instructional techniques.

Tel: n/a
njbarrett@usfca.edu

Nancy J. Barrett, M.A.

Adjunct Faculty, Catholic Educational Leadership

Tel: n/a
jbenwell@sonoma-county.org

Jo Benwell, M.A., MPA

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Forensic Psychiatry; working with the Criminal Mind; the Psychopathic Mind; the use and overuse of psychotropic medications.

Tel: n/a
bergerons@usfca.edu

Sharon Bergeron, MFT

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Trauma; abuse and neglect; chemical dependency; family dysfunction; foster family issues.

Tel:

Ling Busche, M.A., PPS

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
jbcahill@usfca.edu

Jeanmarie Cahill, MA, MFT

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Issues facing teens, young adults and families; anxiety; depression; trauma; eating disorders; and general relationship issues.

Tel: n/a
eccalloway@usfca.edu

Eric C. Calloway, M.A., PPSC

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Teaching, counseling, support of multicultural and underrepresented students in educational systems and society.

Tel: (415) 422-6151
dpchan@usfca.edu

Davina Chan, Ph.D.

Adjunct Professor

Dr. Davina Chan received her Ph.D. from the University of California, Berkeley. She has been teaching at USF since 2003. Her teaching interests include dreams and meditation; learning, memory, and cognition; biological psychology; and Asian American psychology.

Tel: n/a
mchavez@usfca.edu

Mariana Chavez, M.A., PPS

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
cohenes@aol.com

Ester A. Cohen, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Children's peer relations and social skills; children's social-cognitive development; family interactions; race relations in children; role of empathy in childhood disorders.

Tel: n/a
mmcoombs@usfca.edu

Mary M. Coombs, Ph.D., L.C.S.W.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Comparative analyses of different psychotherapy modalities; integrative psychotherapy; cross cultural understandings of human development, including concepts of mental health and mental illness, emotion and psychotherapy, and psychotherapy process and outcome research.

Tel: n/a

Shelwyn Corrigan, M.A.

Adjunct Faculty, Online TESOL

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Linguistics; multimedia studies; ESL and EFL.

Tel: n/a
pcowick@comcast.net

Patricia G. Cowick, M.A., MFT

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Group counseling; theory and practice; parent and child therapy; psychopathology; life transitions; cross cultural counseling.

Tel: (916) 276-0626
info@recoveryhappens.com

Jon Daily, LCSW

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Interpersonal Neurobiology as it pertains to the connection between Addiction and Mental Health and treatment.

Tel: n/a
ocdixon@usfca.edu

Onllwyn C. Dixon, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, International and Multicultural Education

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Critical pedagogy; decolonizing methodologies; human rights education; women of color in higher education; postcolonial feminist theories; social constructions of race, class and gender; academic program management and evaluation.

Tel: n/a
ilzeduarte@earthlink.net

Ilze B. Duarte, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Online TESOL

Research interests and areas of expertise:
ESL; TESOL theory and methods.

Tel: n/a
nmfeehan@usfca.edu

Nancy Feehan, M.A., MFT

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Cross cultural healing and wisdom.

Tel: (415) 422-5639
safenderson@usfca.edu

Sandra Fenderson, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Teacher Education

Tel: n/a
aflentje@usfca.edu

Annesa Flentje, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Substance use and other health disparities related to gender identity and sexual orientation.

Tel: n/a
cforasiepi@usfca.edu

Cinzia Forasiepi, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Online TESOL

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Second language acquisition; linguistics; literacy; TESOL; translation; immigration.

Tel: n/a
foxm@usfca.edu

Marcella L. Fox, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Catholic Educational Leadership; Leadership Studies

Tel: n/a
sam@samgaranzini.com

Salvatore Garanzini, M.A., MFT

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
ptrgeiger@aol.com

Peter Geiger, M.A., LMFT

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Developmental counseling and therapy; Life transitions; Later life counseling and therapy; Education of counselors and therapists; Case conceptualization and consultation.

Tel: n/a
nlgibbons415@gmail.com

Niki Gibbons, M.A., PPS

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Organizing and working with community groups; community based organizations.

Tel: n/a
jmgumina@usfca.edu

Joseph Gumina, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Areas of expertise:
Family therapy; child and adolescent therapy; parent consultation; developmental differences; mental health intern supervision and training; community outreach; consultations with schools and pediatricians.

Tel: n/a

Johnnie Johnson Hafernik, Ed.D.

Adjunct Professer, Professor Emerita

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Second language pedagogy; sociolinguistics; EAP curriculum development and evaluation; program administration; social justice and ethical issues in higher education.

Tel: n/a
mlhaley@usfca.edu

Michele Haley, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Women's issues; body image; 5150's; and traffic safety.

Tel: n/a
diana.hansen@sbcglobal.net

Diana Hansen, M.S., MFT

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
dahill@usfca.edu

Deidre Hill-Valdivia, M.A., PPS

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Transpersonal and Christian psychology, and the phenomenon of "surrendering."

Tel: n/a
kaiser@usfca.edu

Kim Kaiser, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Marriage and Family Therapy

Tel: n/a
drkhasho@aol.com

Ramsey H. Khasho, Psy.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
mtking@usfca.edu

Melvina T. King, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Leadership Studies

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Ethical leadership; socioeconomic wellbeing; reciprocity; inclusive workforce; global job creations.

Tel: n/a
therapy@lindaklann.com

Linda Klann, MFT

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
mkovarik@usfca.edu

Madeline Kovarik, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Online TESOL

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Curriculum design; service-learning; classroom management.

Tel: n/a
rhmlawrence@yahoo.com

Rhonda M. Lawrence, M.A.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
cwlejeune@sbcglobal.net

Chad W. LeJeune, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
lopezw@usfca.edu

Joy Lopez, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Digital Technologies for Teaching and Learning

Tel: n/a
dmkmft@mac.com

Dee Ann Marx-Kelley, M.A.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
mmoreno2@usfca.edu

Marion Moreno, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Leadership Studies

Tel: n/a
tmoreno@usfca.edu

Tommy Moreno, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Leadership Studies

Tel: n/a
mmng4@usfca.edu

Monica Ng, M.A., PPS

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
wwnguyen808@gmail.com

William Nguyen, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Multiculturalism; clinical assessment/diagnosis; family systems; substance abuse; and career development.

Tel: n/a
otis@usfca.edu

Faith Otis, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
kkarolyn@comcast.net

Karolyn K. Palmer, M.A., MFT, PPS

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Adoption/foster care; parenting education; trauma; educational issues.

Tel: n/a
peltiermail@gmail.com

Bruce Peltier, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Dr. Peltier is Professor of Psychology and Ethics at the Arthur A. Dugoni School of Dentistry, University of the Pacific and is a regular lecturer in the Counseling Psychology department at USF.

Tel: n/a
pomerantz@usfca.edu

Steven D. Pomerantz, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
popal@usfca.edu

M. Sedique Popal, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, International and Multicultural Education

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Teaching cognitive and social theories of linguistics.

Tel: n/a
sramirez2@usfca.edu

Silvia Ramirez, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Leadership Studies

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Teacher training; second language acquisition; policy implementation; K-12 school reform; women in higher education; K-12 Education.

Tel: n/a
jvreza@comcast.net

Jackie V. Reza, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, International and Multicultural Education

Research interests and areas of expertise:
International and multicultural education.

Tel: n/a
nsrosenbledt@usfca.edu

Nancy Rosenbledt, Psy.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Girls' development and gender-specific programming.

Tel: n/a
lscolari@usfca.edu

Laurie Scolari, Ed.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Higher Education and Student Affairs

Research Interests and Areas of Expertise:
First-generation students of color, high school to community college transitions, strategic partnerships between K-12 and institutions of higher education, use of data-informed decision making to remove barriers of access, persistence and success.

Tel: n/a
drsueshaffer@gmail.com

Sue L. Shaffer, Ed.D., MFT

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
soohoot@usfca.edu

Terry Soo-Hoo, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel:
vltamkin@usfca.edu

Vivian Tamkin, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
cltippettlcsw@surewest.net

Christine L. Tippett, MSW, LCSW, LMFT

Adjunct Faculty, Marriage and Family Therapy

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Nonmedical psychotherapy with individuals, couples and families throughout the lifespan. Clinical supervision of school based child/family mental health services. Clinical consultation regarding ethical practice standards with BBS. Fellow and member of Oxford Symposium of School Based Family Counseling.

Tel: n/a
mtsukamoto@usfca.edu

Mio Tsukamoto Berk, M.A., PPS

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
l.vargas@yahoo.com

Laurie Vargas, M.S., PPS

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
ccvelazquez@usfca.edu

Carmen Velázquez, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Research interests and areas of expertise:
Pediatric HIV; cross-cultural considerations in neuropsychology; acculturation; and academic achievement in adolescents.

Tel: (415) 422-6551
rvue@usfca.edu

Rican Vue, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Organization and Leadership

Tel: n/a
sswan@usfca.edu

Samuel Wan, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology

Tel: n/a
pwood@jps.net

Patricia Wood, Ph.D.

Adjunct Faculty, Counseling Psychology