Dobles Vidas
Dobles Vidas
Sculpture Terrace

Folk Art from The Mexican Museum

August 18–December 12, 2014

Dobles Vidas: Folk Art from The Mexican Museum presents over 60 artworks that explore the many stories an object can tell about the people, places and traditions of those who create, use and collect them. From Huichol yarn paintings to wooden animals, ceramic muñecas to barro negro, Dobles Vidas reveals the many facets of folk art in Mexico.

Dobles Vidas is the second collaboration between The Mexican Museum and the University of San Francisco’s Thacher Gallery and Masters in Museum Studies Program. Drawn from The Mexican Museum’s extensive collection of over 7,000 pieces of folk art, the exhibit highlights works from the Nelson A. Rockefeller Collection.

Programming is co-sponsored by USF’s Center for Latino Studies in the Americas (CELASA), the Department of Art + Architecture, and the Intercultural Center among others.


Inside Look and Opening Reception
Tuesday, Aug. 26, 2–4 p.m., Thacher Gallery
Merrill Amos and Leah Belcher, graduate interns, will provide an insider’s introduction to the exhibit. Followed by a reception.

Community Folk Art Festival
Sunday, Sept. 28, 12:30–2:30 p.m., Thacher Gallery
A community celebration of Mexican folk art through live music, dance, hands-on art demonstrations and bilingual tours. This family event is free and open to the public.

Day of the Dead: A Conversation with Evelyn Orantes and Ani Rivera
Tuesday, Oct. 21, 1:30–2:30 p.m., McLaren 252
Evelyn Orantes, Curator of Public Practice, Oakland Museum and Ani Rivera, Executive Director, Galería de la Raza will discuss the role that Day of the Dead programming plays in the community.

Day of the Dead: Altar Building with Chisme y Comida
Tuesday, Oct. 22, 6:30–8 p.m., Thacher Gallery
Join Chisme y Comida and USF altar artisans Olivia and Margarita Muñoz in remembering and celebrating the dead. Participants will create this year’s altar on display as part of Dobles Vidas.

Dobles Vidas Reading and Broadside Exchange
Thursday, Nov. 18, 5–6:30 p.m., Xavier Auditorium, Fromm Hall and Thacher Gallery
Join students and faculty reading their poetry and prose written in response to Dobles Vidas. A reception will follow where design students will present their corresponding to writers and guests.

Thacher Thursdays
Thursdays, 12–1 p.m., Thacher Gallery
Unique tours, pop-up exhibitions, and live music presented by students and the USF community. Held on the second and final Thursdays of the month. Sept. 11: Exhibit Tour; Sept. 25: Final Thursday Chamber Ensemble; Oct. 9: TBA; Oct. 30: Final Thursday Chamber Ensemble; Nov. 12* (Wed): Exploring Everyday Media; Dec. 11: Baile Folklórico de San Pancho. 


Thacher Thursdays: Unique Tours, Pop-Ups and Live Perf

9/11/2014, 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Gleeson Library Thacher Gallery Event

Final Thursday Chamber Music

9/25/2014, 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Gleeson Library Thacher Gallery Event

Community Folk Art Festival

9/28/2014, 12:30 PM - 2:30 PM

Gleeson Library Thacher Gallery Event

Thacher Thursdays: Unique Tours, Pop-Ups and Live Perf

10/9/2014, 12:00 PM - 1:00 PM

Gleeson Library Thacher Gallery Event

Day of the Dead: A conversation with Evelyn Orantes and Ani Rivera

10/21/2014, 1:30 PM - 3:00 PM

McLaren Conference Center 252