Hi! Did you know your browser is outdated? For a more robust web experience we recommend using Safari, Firefox, Chrome or Opera.
Bill Monning_thumb
California Senate Majority Leader is USF Law AlumnusStory
Six Bay Area Sports Teams’ In-House Counsels Shed Light on Sports BusinessStory
John Adler_thumb

Three Law Faculty Members Receive University Merit Awards

Molly Moriarty Lane ’90 Wins Alum of the Year Award at Alumni Graduates DinnerStory
Class of 2015 Celebrates GraduationStory
Professor Tim Iglesias Appointed to California Fair Employment and Housing CouncilStory
Steve Hamill_thumb2
Stephen Hamill ’78 Elected Chair of USF Board of TrusteesStory
Dom Daher NACUBO tax award 2015_thumb
Adjunct Professor Dominic Daher Wins Prestigious Tax AwardStory

Alumni Graduates Dinner Salutes Class of 2009

May 27, 2009

Alumni Graduates Dinner Salutes Class of 2009 More than 300 USF School of Law students, alumni, faculty, and administrators gathered at San Francisco's Mark Hopkins Hotel May 20 to celebrate the graduation of the Class of 2009.

Several faculty and student awards and a historic class gift were presented.

Every member of the Class of 2009 contributed to the class gift campaign, which raised $100,000 to establish an endowed scholarship for future generations of USF law students. This unprecedented 100 percent participation rate in the class gift campaign allowed the class to surpass its initial $50,000 goal.

"I know full well the daunting debt that many of you face and the anxiety you experience as law jobs disappear with alarming speed," Dean Jeffrey Brand said. "But that didn't stop this class from acting for those yet to grace the law school's halls. That's why I say if we are looking to maintain our balance, our faith, our optimism, and our belief that we can overcome the crises we face, we need to look no further than the graduating Class of 2009."

The evening also included the announcement of the Distinguished Faculty Award. Professor John Adler received the award, which was voted on by students and presented by Student Bar Association President Amol Mehra. Adler has received the award eight times.

"I feel humbled by this recognition. I wish this award were shared with all my colleagues because I am truly in awe of what amazing teachers they are," Adler said.

Adjunct Professor Carol Langford received the Hon. Ira A. Brown Jr. Distinguished Adjunct Professor Award. Langford teaches Legal Ethics and the Practice of Law. In accepting the award, Langford urged graduates to find something outside of the law that they love, do pro bono work, and "pick an area of law you love because a happy lawyer is an ethical lawyer."

The Student Bar Association (SBA) Award, given to the members of the graduating class who contribute to the character of the law school through service and leadership, was given to SBA President Amol Mehra and Jazmine Capulong. In addition, Professors Michelle Travis and Maria Ontiveros announced that the ABA/BNA Awards for Excellence in Employment Law went to Jacquelyn Lindsey, Jenica Mariani, and Andrew Younkins.