Hi! Did you know your browser is outdated? For a more robust web experience we recommend using Safari, Firefox, Chrome or Opera.
theis_thumbnail
Alumna Elected to Illinois Supreme CourtStory
supreme_ct_session_thumb
Supreme Court to Hold Session at USFStory
Shapiro-McClain_thumb
IP Externship Provides Skills Training and MentorshipStory
Jeanine_Cotter_thumb
USF Alumna is a National Leader on SolarStory
Talbot-Hewitt_thumb
Clinics Provide Interdisciplinary Services to Start-Ups and Trademark Law Experience to StudentsStory
After_Actavis_panel_thumb2
Antitrust Conference at USF Examines the Future of Reverse Payment LitigationStory
Job-Shadow-thumb
Job Shadow Program Opens Doors to Professional OpportunitiesStory
Bill Monning_thumb
California Senate Majority Leader is USF Law AlumnusStory
Sports_counsels_thumb
Six Bay Area Sports Teams’ In-House Counsels Shed Light on Sports BusinessStory

Moot Court 

USF's Moot Court Program helps you build the advocacy and leadership skills required of today's legal professionals. 

The program incorporates a range of opportunities to practice hands-on oral advocacy and brief writing skills, while also giving students, alumni, and practitioners a forum for networking and collaboration. 

Moot Court
Zief, 011
(415) 422-5118
Email Us

Students first participate in Moot Court through their Legal Research, Writing, and Analysis class where they research and write a complex legal brief. After being coached by our legal writing faculty and a Moot Court student case counsel, the students end the semester with an oral argument in front of visiting judges. 

Students who excel in the program join the advanced moot court programs as student leaders in their second year. Some become case counsel and work directly with a member of the legal writing faculty to both develop the problem that the first year students will work on and assist in the classroom. Other students join one of our prestigious and very successful advocacy teams. We send teams to competitions, including the National Moot Court Competition and the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition. 

The 2014-2015 academic year was a banner year with wins in competitions at all levels, including the Thomas Tang Moot Court Competition team winning the Western Regional and advancing to the national semi finals and our Lefkowitz Team taking first place in the Western Regionals and advancing to the nationals in Washington, D.C. In their final year, students can join the Moot Court Board. 

The Moot Court Board

This board oversees the entire program including USF’s internal advocacy competition, the Advocate of the Year Competition, open to all USF students. 

Executive Director
Alexandra Martin - armartin3@usfca.edu 

External Advocacy Director
Cecilia Fierro - ccfierro@usfca.edu

Internal Advocacy Director
Amber Eklof - aaeklof@usfca.edu

Development Directors

Sam Johnson - srjohnson3@usfca.edu
Meghan Killian – mckillian@usfca.edu
Iris Kokish - irkokish@usfca.edu
Nicole Phillips - nlphillips2@usfca.edu
Kelsey Quist - kequist@usfca.edu
Rebecca Taylor - rltaylor2@usfca.edu
Calla Yee - ceyee@usfca.edu 

The Moot Court Faculty

Director of the Moot Court Program,
Assistant Professor
Amy Flynn
amflynn@usfca.edu
415-422-5369

Coordinator of the First Year Moot Court Program,
Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
Edith Ho
hoe@usfca.edu
415-422-6049


2015-2016 Moot Court Program Application

Moot Court Program Information Packet