Hi! Did you know your browser is outdated? For a more robust web experience we recommend using Safari, Firefox, Chrome or Opera.
Brand and Phair_thumb
Inaugural Brand Pursuit of Justice Fellow Heads to ThailandStory
Clinic win by Katie Finch
Criminal and Juvenile Justice Law Clinic Student’s Investigation Helps Exonerate ClientStory
Cometria Cooper_thumb
Cometria Cooper Named One of National Bar Association’s Top Trailblazers Under 40Story
IAP 2014 thumb
Students Hone Trial Advocacy Skills in Intensive ProgramStory
Rocío Albarrán_thumb
Rocío Albarrán 3L Wins Prestigious Peggy Browning FellowshipStory
Michelle Travis
Travis Named Professor of the Year at Alum Grad DinnerStory
Graduates of 2014
Class of 2014 Celebrates GraduationStory
Tim Iglesias
USF Honors Law Faculty for Exceptional Teaching and ServiceStory
Alyssa Bussey
Third-Year Student Externs with California Supreme Court Chief JusticeStory

Moot Court 

Through its highly regarded Moot Court Program, USF strives to provide students a realistic sense of the rewards and challenges of practice after law school. It incorporates a wide-range of activities giving students opportunities to practice their oral advocacy and brief writing skills. The program also aims to give students, alumni, and practitioners a forum for collaboration. 

Moot Court
Zief, 011
(415) 422-5118
Email Us

Students first participate in Moot Court through their Legal Research, Writing, and Analysis class where they research and write a complex legal brief. Then after being coached by our legal writing faculty and a Moot Court student case counsel, the students end the semester with an oral argument in front of visiting judges. Students who excel in the program as first years join the advanced moot court programs as student leaders in their second year. Some become case counsel and work directly with a member of the legal writing faculty to both develop the problem that the first year students will work on and assist in the classroom. Other students join one of our prestigious and very successful advocacy teams. We send teams to competitions, including the National Moot Court Competition and the Philip C. Jessup International Law Moot Court Competition. The 2012-2013 academic year was a banner year with wins in competitions at all levels, including the first USF team to win the regional competition and advance to the National Appellate Advocacy Competition national finals. In their final year, students can join the Moot Court Board. This Board oversees the entire program including USF’s internal advocacy competition, the Advocate of the Year Competition, open to all USF students. 

The Moot Court Board

Executive Director
Alexandra Martin - armartin3@usfca.edu 

External Advocacy Director
Cecilia Fierro - ccfierro@usfca.edu

Internal Advocacy Director
Amber Eklof - aaeklof@usfca.edu

Development Directors

Sam Johnson - srjohnson3@usfca.edu
Meghan Killian – mckillian@usfca.edu
Iris Kokish - irkokish@usfca.edu
Nicole Phillips - nlphillips2@usfca.edu
Kelsey Quist - kequist@usfca.edu
Rebecca Taylor - rltaylor2@usfca.edu
Calla Yee - ceyee@usfca.edu 

The Moot Court Faculty

Director of the Moot Court Program,
Assistant Professor
Amy Flynn
amflynn@usfca.edu
415-422-5369

Coordinator of the First Year Moot Court Program,
Assistant Professor of Legal Writing
Edith Ho
hoe@usfca.edu
415-422-6049