All Programs


Minor in Communication Studies

The Communication Studies Minor requires completion of 20 credits that are subdivided into three areas: 1) Foundations (8 credits); 2) Methods (4 credits); and 3) Advanced Area Studies (8 credits). Students should consult full course descriptions for specific prerequisite requirements. A summary of requirements and courses follows below.

Foundations (8 credits, select 2 courses)
  • COMS 202 -  Rhetoric and the Public Sphere
  • COMS 203 -  Communication and Everyday Life
  • COMS 204 -  Communication and Culture
Methods (4 credits, select 1 course)
  • COMS 252 - Critical and Rhetorical Methods
  • COMS 253 - Quantitative Research Methods
  • COMS 254 - Qualitative Methods

Advanced Area Studies (8 credits, select 2 courses)*

*For the complete list of Advanced Area Studies courses we offer, please refer to the Communication Studies major requirements.

Note: No more than one (1) Public Relations course may count towards the Communication Studies minor. No more than four (4) units of Directed Study may count towards the Communication Studies minor. Students double-minoring in Communication Studies and Public Relations may not double-count Advanced Area courses for the Minors. Students majoring or minoring in Advertising (ADVT) can only double-count COMS 202 Rhetoric and the Public Sphere.