People

Tel:(415) 422-4693
jcchubb@usfca.edu

Jennifer Chubb

Assistant Professor

My general research area is logic and computability theory, in particular computable structure theory. I also study quantum computing & quantum logic. More information at http://cs.usfca.edu/~jcchubb

Tel:(415) 422-6509
smdevlin@usfca.edu

Stephen Devlin

Associate Professor

My recent interests include complex networks, game theory, and dynamics on networks. I am also interested in representation theory and non linear groups. Office HoursT 10:00-12:00pm; W 2.00-3.00pm

Tel:(415) 422-6327
harringtonk@usfca.edu

Ken Harrington

Adjunct Professor

Tel:(415) 422-5903
brunelle@usfca.edu

Renee Hubert

Instructor

Technology in the classroom; making mathematics accessible to non-majors.

Tel:415-422-4671
edlawrence@usfca.edu

Emille Lawrence

Assistant Professor (Term)

Tel:

Mario Micheli

Assistant Professor, Mathematics

Tel:(415) 422-5616
needham@usfca.edu

Tristan Needham

Professor

My interests are visualization, Differential Geometry, Complex Analysis, General Relativity, and the history of science.

Tel:(415) 422-6630
pacheco@usfca.edu

Peter Pacheco

Professor

Prof. Pacheco's main research interest is parallel computing. He has been involved in the development of the MPI Standard for message-passing. His book Parallel Programming with MPI is an elementary introduction to programming parallel systems that use the MPI 1 library of extensions to C and Fortran.  His book An Introduction to Parallel Programming is designed to teach inexperienced programmers how to program both shared- and distributed-memory parallel systems.

Tel:(415) 422-6747
mwrinker@usfca.edu

Mark Rinker

Adjunct Professor

Tel:(415) 422-5054
stillwell@usfca.edu

John Stillwell

Professor

My interests are history of mathematics in the 19th and 20th centuries, number theory, geometry, algebra, topology, foundations of mathematics.In Australia during Spring and Summer

Tel:(415) 422-5028
vtran3@usfca.edu

Van Thu Tran

Adjunct Professor

Tel:415-422-6637
duminsky@usfca.edu

David Uminsky

Assistant Professor

David's research interests are in applying mathematics to unsupervised machine learning and data clustering methods. He is specifically interested in developing new provably convergent and highly accurate algorithms to perform unsupervised data clustering. He is also the founding director of the Bachelor's program in Data Science at USF. Before joining USF he was a combined NSF and UC President's Fellow at UCLA. He holds a Ph.D. in Mathematics from Boston University and a B.S. in Mathematics from Harvey Mudd College.

Tel:(415) 422-4981
cvancott@usfca.edu

Cornelia Van Cott

Assistant Professor

Tel:(415) 422-6836
wolfr@usfca.edu

Robert Wolf

Assistant Professor

Tel:(415) 422-2187
yeung@math.usfca.edu

Stephen Yeung

Associate Professor

Dynamical systems theory including coupled oscillators, Josephson junction arrays, injection lasers, sigma-delta data converters, and algorithmic analysis of microarray data

Tel:(415) 422-6590
zeitzp@usfca.edu

Paul Zeitz

Professor and Chair

Interests:  Combinatorics, mathematical problem solving, innovative mathematical enrichment and outreach.