Physical Activity Program

"Lack of activity destroys the good condition of every human being while movement and methodical physical exercise save and preserve it." -Plato

Program Goal

It is the mission of the Kinesiology Department to facilitate and encourage lifelong physical activity and exercise in an effort to promote both physical and psychological health. In this interest, the Department offers a variety of physical activity courses for the University population.

General Course Description

KIN100 courses are semester-long 1-unit elective-credit courses offered once or twice a week for a total of 100 minutes a week. The curriculum is structured so as to teach the foundations of the course activity (concepts and movements), to provide supportive instruction and knowledge relevant to the subject, and to observe and evaluate progress in the skill.  All courses are taught by specialists in their field and are intended for the student who is interested in learning, practicing, and improving the ability to perform a specific movement skill for their enjoyment and health promotion. 

Course Titles

At the current time, the Department offers courses in several Dance forms, Aerobic Fitness, Functional Training, Weight & Circuit Training, Tennis, Badminton, Golf, Swimming Instruction, Swimming for Fitness, Taekwondo, Fencing, Gymnastics/Tumbling, Volleyball, Basketball, Soccer, Relaxation & Massage, Pilates/ Feldenkrais, and Yoga. There is truly something for everyone.

Kinesiology Major Requirement

Kinesiology majors are required to complete 4 different physical activity courses for their degree.

Program Coordinator
Dr. Geraldine Lauro - Harney 223 - 422-6508

Physical Activity Program (PAP) Office
Hagan Gym Foyer - Koret Health and Recreation Center

Adjunct Faculty

  • Graciela Acedo - PAP Office - 422-3873 gacedo@usfca.edu
  • Naby Bangoura - PAP Office - 422-3876
  • Peter Bartlett - Memorial Gym T3 - 422-6073 bartlett@usfca.edu   
  • Leonel Bello - PAP Office - 422-6092  L1bello@aol.com
  • Valeriy Boreyko - Koret Aquatics Office - 422-2597 boreyko@usfca.edu
  • Kathe Burick - PAP Office - 422-6093 burick@usfca.edu 
  • Melissa Caywood - PAP Office - 422-6615  macaywood@usfca.edu
  • Kelly Coffey - PAP Office - 422-6615  krcoffey@usfca.edu
  • Jerry Duke -  PAP Office - 422-6615 jcduke@sfsu.edu 
  • John Gagnon - PAP Office - 422-6094  surfer94708@lycos.com
  • Natalie Greene -  PAP Office - 422-3877 njgreen@usfca.edu
  • Mary Hile-Nepfel - PAP Office - 422-6615 hile@usfca.edu
  • Ken Ko - Memorial Gym - 422-2769 kjko@usfca.edu
  • Justin Leach - Memorial Gym G07 - 422-2055  jwleach@usfca.edu
  • Dave Macfarlane - PAP Office - 422-6615 mister.trumpton@gmail.com
  • Cathleen McCarthy -  PAP Office - 422-3888
  • Maureen Miner - PAP Office - 422-3888 mrminer@usfca.edu 
  • Rob Smith - Memorial Gym A176 - 422-2055  rsmith6@usfca.edu
  • Rashad Pridgen -  PAP Office - 422-3888  rpridgen@usfca.edu
  • Sydney Reitenbach - PAP Office - 422-6098                                             master@reitenbachstaekwondo.com     
  • Laura Sachs - PAP Office - 422-6558  lsachs3@comcast.net
  • Kirstin Williams - PAP Office - 422-6615  strongcurrent@hotmail.com