bridgechurch_150
G_Biology

Faculty

Tel:415-422-6345
chienp@usfca.edu

Paul Chien

Professor

Professor Chien is interested in the physiology and ecology of inter-tidal organisms. His research has involved the transport of amino acids and metal ions across cell membranes and the detoxification mechanisms of metal ions.

Tel:(415) 422-5481
jadever@usfca.edu

Jennifer Dever

Associate Professor

Professor Dever studies the genetics of threatened and/or endangered populations of vertebrates, including crocodiles and foothill yellowlegged frogs. She employs molecular markers to assess the genetic structure of these populations, with the goal of species conservation.

Tel:(415) 422-2831
karentzd@usfca.edu

Deneb Karentz

Professor

Dr. Karentz is a marine biologist with expertise in ultraviolet photobiology and plankton ecology. Much of her work has focused on the physiological and ecological consequences of Antarctic ozone depletion.

Tel:(415) 422-2354
niles@usfca.edu

Mary Jane Niles

Professor

Professor Niles is interested in the regulated development of B-lymphocytes, a population of cells critical to adaptive immunity. Her research focuses on defining the molecular events that promote the assembly, transport, and secretion of antibodies.

Tel:(415) 422-5645
nunes@usfca.edu

Scott Nunes

Associate Professor

Professor Nunes is interested in questions at the interface between physiology, behavior, and ecology. His studies have examined hormonal and energetic regulation of dispersal, play, and parental behaviors in mammals.

Tel:415-422-4915
jrpaul@usfca.edu

John Paul

Assistant Professor

Professor Paul's research program at USF focuses on the ecology and evolution of plants and integrates molecular phylogenetics, population and functional genomics, and greenhouse and field experiments. He has particular interest in using evolutionary history to help explain variation in the abundance of distribution of plant species.

Tel:(415) 422-6367
jsikes@usfca.edu

James Sikes

Assistant Professor

Professor Sikes is interested in the evolution and development of regeneration and asexual reproduction in invertebrates, particularly marine and freshwater flatworms. Current research focuses on understanding developmental mechanisms that allow some flatworms to regenerate and the molecular developmental processes that lead to diversification of asexual reproductive strategies.

Tel:(415) 422-5470
jspencer@usfca.edu

Juliet Spencer

Professor

Professor Spencer studies herpesviruses and the mechanisms these viruses employ to evade host defenses and establish lifelong latency. The current emphasis is investigating the function of viral cytokines, chemokines, and chemokine receptors encoded by human cytomegalovirus.

Tel:(415) 422-6276
stevens@usfca.edu

Gary Stevens

Professor

Professor Stevens' research centers around small mammal demography and environmental monitoring. His studies have included research in the Arctic, California, and Papua New Guinea.

Tel:(415) 422-5975
sullivan@usfca.edu

John Sullivan

Professor

Professor Sullivan investigates the role of the molluscan immune system in responding to parasitic infection and foreign tissue transplants. He is specifically interested in the interaction between the schistosome parasite, a major cause of human disease, and the snail intermediate host.

Tel:(415) 422-6820
ctzagarakis@usfca.edu

Christina Tzagarakis-Foster

Associate Professor

Professor Tzagarakis-Foster studies the transcription factor, DAX-1, which is a member of the nuclear hormone receptor family and is linked to the human disease X-linked Adrenal Hypoplasia Congenita (AHC). Specifically, her research explores the role of DAX-1 in human development as well its involvement in the initiation of breast cancer.