airchurch_150
G Asia Pac Studies

Faculty

Tel:
echuang@usfca.edu

Ellen Huang

Kiriyama Postdoctoral Teaching Fellow

Ellen Huang, Ph.d. is a Kiriyama Postdoctoral Fellow at USF's Center for the Pacific Rim.  Her research and teaching span Asian art history, history of technology, and the material cultures of antiquity through modern period.

Tel:(415) 422-5093
nelsonj@usfca.edu

John Nelson

Professor

John Nelson is a Professor in the Department of Theology and Religious Studies at the University of San Francisco.  His areas of specialization are East Asian religions, contemporary Buddhism, cultural anthropology, globalization, secularism, and Asian Studies. Professor Nelson is the author of two books on Japanese Shinto, numerous articles, and a video documentary on Yasukuni Shrine. He is the co-editor of the Handbook of Contemporary Japanese Religions (Brill, 2012) and has recently completed a book titled Experimental Buddhism: Innovation and Activism in Contemporary Japan,published by the University of Hawaii Press in fall 2013.  Professor Nelson received a Ph.D. from U.C. Berkeley and came to USF in 2000.

Tel:(415) 422-6080
roddys@usfca.edu

Stephen Roddy

Associate Professor

Associate Professor and Co-Chair of Modern and Classical Languages, received his Ph.D. in East Asian Studies from Princeton University, and specializes in the fiction and other prose genres of 18th and 19th century China and Japan.

Tel:(415) 422-6452
sharmas@usfca.edu

Shalendra Sharma

Professor

Shalendra D. Sharma, (Ph.D , University of Toronto) is Professor in the Department of Politics at theUniversity of San Francisco. He also teaches in the MA program in the Department of Economics.

Tel:(415) 422-4375
hshin2@usfca.edu

Hwaji Shin

Assistant Professor

Hwaji Shin joined the Sociology Department at the University of San Francisco as a full-time Assistant Professor in 2007 after completed her Ph.D. in Sociology at SUNY Stony Brook. Between 2008 and 2010, she was a visiting assistant professor and Japan fund fellow at Freeman Spogli Institute of International Studies at Stanford University where she researched and lectured on the race and ethnic relations in modern Japan.

Tel:(415) 422-2229
mjucerler@usfca.edu

M. Antoni Ucerler

Director of Research, Center for the Pacific Rim; Associate Professor