The University of San Francisco: Office of the President
St. Ignatius Church in the fog

Presidential Transition

President’s Transition Team

Charge to President’s Transition Team


The Board of Trustees believes a successful presidential transition from the current president Fr. Stephen A. Privett, S.J., to new president Fr. Paul Fitzgerald, S.J., is essential. The University has created a transition team for the purpose of planning a successful transition of the outgoing and incoming president and planning the first semester of the new president that maximizes this opportunity.


The charge to the President’s Transition Team is to develop a transition plan with a variety of key activities to be accomplished within the transition period (June to December 31, 2014). The transition team will create a transition plan that will help the incoming president become familiar with important contacts and relationships, the University’s culture, and the greater community. The team will identify key goals and activities to accomplish those goals. A primary focus of the plan will be to facilitate a collaborative and inclusive transition process. During the transition period, the new president and the team will highlight and leverage the strengths of the University. The plan will be designed to build mutual trust with internal and external communities, particularly San Francisco business and technology leaders. The transition team will ensure transparency and open communication throughout and beyond the transition process, which will include providing the Board of Trustees and other stakeholders with regular updates on the progress of the transition.

Team Composition

The transition team will be composed of members who represent a wide variety of stakeholders. It will be chaired by Vice Chair Emeritus Charles Smith and USF Provost Jennifer Turpin, and include the University’s new President Fr. Paul Fitzgerald, S.J.; Vice President for Business and Finance; Vice President for Communications and Marketing David Macmillan; Vice President for Development Peter Wilch; Vice President for Information Technology Opinder Bawa, Vice Provost for Student Life Peter Novak; General Counsel Donna Davis; and Executive Assistant to the President/Secretary to the Board of Trustees Jaci Neesam. The transition team is a planning group. Implementation of the transition plan will be the responsibility of appropriate groups and individuals, particularly the members of the Transition Advisory Council.


Transition Advisory Council

Charge to Transition Advisory Council


The Transition Advisory Council will support and guide the introduction of Paul Fitzgerald, S.J., to the University community throughout the coming academic year. As a working council, its charge is as follows:


  • Identify established groups, committees, departments and divisions in the community.
  • Optimize existing meetings and events as vehicles to make introductions.
  • Contact leadership of constituent groups to initiate introductions.
  • Facilitate unique and intimate gatherings allowing the new president to build relationships and engage in dialogue.
  • Prepare the new president for unique interactions to best solicit perspectives on aspirations, culture and governance of these constituencies.
  • Assist the new president in sharing a consistent message of his priorities to these constituencies.
  • Assist in managing expectations and messaging of president's introduction.
  • Assist and reinforce the PTT in consistent messaging efforts by serving as a conduit to constituent groups.
  • Establish an evaluation process for these introductory meetings to share feedback with the new president.


TAC Composition

The TAC will be co-chaired by Vice Chair Emeritus Charles Smith and Executive Assistant to the President/Secretary to the Board of Trustees Jaci Neesam, and include Pam Hamel, Vice Chair, Board of Trustees; Judy Karshmer, Dean, School of Nursing and Health Professions; John Koeplin, S.J., Trustee, Rector, Loyola House Jesuit Community; Angie Davis, Asst. Vice President, Office of Communications and Marketing, Sr. Dir. Communications, School of Law; Brandon Brown, Prof., Physics and Astronomy; Jessica Jordan, Assistant Vice President, Alumni Engagement; Bill Johnson, Director, Development, School of Management; ASUSF President, Eva Long; Graduate Student Senate President, Rania Murr, and Deidre Smith, Manager, Summer Housing and Marketing Publications, Student Life.